Csomay Center

Csomay Center

Caregiver Resources

Geriatric Pain

Give a Gift

Csomay Center

The mission of the Barbara and Richard Csomay Center for Gerontological Excellence is to advance innovations in research, education, and practice to promote optimal aging and quality of life in all older adults and their caregivers. 

Age-Friendly Overview

Csomay Donors

Recognizing all the individuals who have donated to the Csomay Center to help use continue its mission to advance innovations in research, education, and practice to promote optimal aging for all older adults and their caregivers.

Please visit our Csomay Donors webpage for a full list of individuals.

Providing Virtual Care by Telehealth

Palliative Care Incubator

Palliative care is for people of any age, and at any stage in a serious illness, whether that illness is curable, chronic or life-threatening with a goal of improving quality of life by relieving symptoms and stress.  The University of Iowa has a strong history of clinical and educational preparation for palliative care but has not had a central research hub for palliative care experts to meet and develop scientific studies and grant applications.  The Barbara and Richard Csomay Center of Gerontological Excellence, an interprofessional center focused on maximizing optimal aging and adaptive function, has convened a steering committee to explore creating a Palliative Care Incubator to address this gap.  

For more information, visit our Palliative Care Incubator webpage.

Eight over 80

The Csomay Center celebrated Older Americans Month by partnering with the University of Iowa Center for Advancement to host the Eight over 80 celebrations.

This initiative honors eight University of Iowa alumni, age 80 or over, who have demonstrated Hawkeye spirit of achievement and helped others in their community. The first cohort of Eight over 80 honorees are the following:

  • Willard L. "Sandy" Boyd (LHD '81)
  • Lynn Curry (DDS '65)
  • H. Dee Hoover (MA '65/PhD '69)
  • Takako Lento (MFA '67)
  • Robert Osterhaus (BSP '52/DSC '12)
  • Mary Louise Petersen (BA '51/LHD '13)
  • Ann Berner Sexton (BA '58)
  • Shirley Nichols Sparks-Greif (BA '55)

Click here to read more about the honorees and their accomplishments.